The Association For Electronic Music (AFEM) represents the entire ecosystem of businesses involved in electronic music, from Labels to Live, Managers to Media, Technology to Talent with over 140 members in 20 countries including Ministry Of Sound, Beatport, Traxsource, Insomniac, Three Six Zero Group, Spinnin’ Records, CAA and WME through to the latest start-ups.

Our working groups bring our membership together as a coalition for change and connections to drive forward global electronic music commerce and culture.

Come & meet us at BMC or get in touch (email: to discuss how you could benefit from membership and get involved.

Our core campaigns:

Get Played Get Paid: Lobbying the worldwide Performing Rights and Neighbouring Rights Organisations to deploy Music Recognition Technology in clubs, festivals and online so creators and rights-holders of the tracks that DJs play can receive the correct royalty payments.

Safe In Sound: Raising awareness and understanding surrounding event drug and alcohol policy, whilst also raising the standards of incident prevention and care.

Stealing Our Own Success: Disrupting the illegal services that obtain and sell our members music without permission.  Raising awareness among the DJ community of the damage caused to the scene by using illegal DJ download subscription services.

Diversity & Inclusion: AFEM continues to raise awareness for a better balance of gender and ethnicity across the music industry.

At 11am, Friday 28th we invite you to join us in the BMC Professional Theatre whilst we host a panel discussing one of our core campaigns & a key issue facing our industry:

AFEM’s Get Played Get Paid campaign has a simple objective – when electronic music is streamed, played or performed – the people that make the music must get paid. This panel will look at the current processes, recent progress and the potential for technology to transform the music royalties landscape.
Greg Marshall (AFEM) – Moderator
Xanthe Fuller (Mixcloud)
Elizabeth Muirhead (BMAT)
Hannah Simmonds (Toolroom)
Ridney (Cafe Mambo, Spinnin, Toolroom)
Ben Rush (Audiolock)